Search This Blog

Saturday, April 28, 2012

Wool Omnibus Edition (Wool 1-5)

I just finished reading Wool Omnibus Edition (Wool 1 - 5) [Kindle Edition] by hugh howey

This book is a collection of the five Wool books, and details the lives of people living in underground silos in an "after the bomb" type world.  We're never actually told that a nuclear war is what happened, and in fact it's hinted at that this may not be what happened, although no life is capable of existing on the surface due to the residual poisonous gasses from whatever happened.

These books are very well written.  The author has a good way of bringing the reader into the scene and making you feel like you're there, and there are plenty of unexpected surprises to keep your attention, even in the drab, isolated existence of silo life.

This collection is a solid addition to the world of sci-fi and I had a fun time reading it.  I'll definitely check out other works by this author.

The Author's website

From Amazon:
This Omnibus Edition collects the five Wool books into a single volume. It is for those who arrived late to the party and who wish to save a dollar or two while picking up the same stories in a single package.

The first Wool story was released as a standalone short in July of 2011. Due to reviewer demand, the rest of the story was released over the next six months. My thanks go out to those reviewers who clamored for more. Without you, none of this would exist. Your demand created this as much as I did.

This is the story of mankind clawing for survival, of mankind on the edge. The world outside has grown unkind, the view of it limited, talk of it forbidden. But there are always those who hope, who dream. These are the dangerous people, the residents who infect others with their optimism. Their punishment is simple. They are given the very thing they profess to want: They are allowed outside.

No comments:

Post a Comment